[email protected]

The Five Tenets of Martial Arts and Your Child

You may already know that studying the martial arts is a positive way for children to learn key physical, emotional, and social skills. What you may not know is that the learning environment in martial arts training is defined by the five tenets.

The five tenets are core principles that define the essence of martial arts training. They also happen to contain life skills that are essential in childhood development and in turning children into competent and caring adults. Here’s what you need to know about the five tenets and your child.

What Are the Five Tenets?

In any martial arts school, training includes physical movements and education about the five tenets. Here are the five characteristics that define martial artists — and that we teach all our students.

  1. Courtesy. The first tenet is about how we treat other people. You may have noticed that in martial arts classes, each student bows to the instructor and to fellow students. The bow represents courtesy. We expect students to be polite and courteous to one another.
  2. Integrity. The second tenet is about how we conduct ourselves. Children sometimes need help understanding that the only thing they can control is their own behavior. Integrity is something that helps kids at every stage of their education.
  3. Perseverance. The third tenet is perseverance, and it teaches kids at every stage of development that the best way to succeed is to try and be willing to continue trying even when it’s difficult. Learning is always a series of trials and errors and mastering the art of perseverance in the face of adversity is something all students must learn.
  4. Self-Control. To do well in school and in life, children must be able to control themselves. It’s not always easy to be the master of yourself physically and emotionally, but with practice and help from a solid martial arts education, kids can learn to do it.
  5. Indomitable Spirit. The fifth and final tenet of martial arts is indomitable spirit. It is in many ways the pinnacle of the five tenets and the most difficult to define. A child with indomitable spirit can walk with confidence and hold their head high even after a setback or defeat. Children who have indomitable spirit carry it with them wherever they go — and it’s obvious to their educators, parents, and fellow students.

Children learn the five tenets in martial arts classes, and they are just as important to your child as any physical skill they might learn. While students might get more excited about executing kicks and punches, the lessons of the five tenets are the core learning that will carry them through the rest of their lives.

What Can the Five Tenets of Martial Arts Do for Your Child?

It can be difficult for children to learn how to behave in a world that has become increasingly fragmented and confusing. The learning you provide at home may not stick if it isn’t reinforced by outside educators. We pride ourselves on educating the whole child, body, mind, and spirit.

The tenets at the core of martial arts training will provide your child with the tools they need to be successful in every aspect of life. In addition to training their bodies, our martial arts classes help children learn how to move through the world. 

Your child’s development can be defined by the core tenets that we teach every day. The knowledge of how to behave and how to approach life’s challenges will help them in home, at school, and for the rest of their lives.

Scroll to Top

View Our Web Special

Secure your spot & get started with our
EXCLUSIVE online offer!

Skip to content